News & Events‎ > ‎

2016/17 Women's & Men's Club Champ Fours

posted May 3, 2017, 9:42 PM by Balmoral Bowls   [ updated May 3, 2017, 9:42 PM ]
Both the Women's and Men's Club Champ Fours were concluded in April managing to doge around the  2 bouts  of extremely wet weather.

The Women's Championship Four final was played out  between two teams mixing  Juniors in with some of the Club's more established & experienced players.  In a tight and absorbing final  Dragita Nikolova, Marika Knez, Diane Barrett and Marie Makgill ran out the winners 11- 8 over the over the  Etsuko MacKessack, Ngaire Doherty, Linda Farley and Tessa Farley combination.

2016/17 Women's  Fours Champions from L to R: Marie Makgill, Diane Barrett, Marika Knez and Dragita Nikolova.

The Men's Championship Fours  saw eight teams split into two, four team round robin sections with the winner from each section to play in the final.
Three games were played and the winners of each pool met in the final which finished in the gathering dusk.
The Finalists were last years defending champions, Scott Harrison, Artem Chesnokov, Glen MacDonald and Richard Seifert and the  John Thompson skipped combination of  Bruce Williams, David Frew and Owen Gibbons.

The Harrison skipped four proved too powerful in the final, winning 20 to 6 with the last end unplayed,  a clear case of  youth and enthusiasm winning out over age and experience.

2016/17 Men's Fours Champions from L to R: Scott Harrison, Glen MacDonaldArtem Chesnokov and Richard Seifert.